Home Bright Sparcs
Biographical entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next
Be a Bright Sparcs Supporter

Wark, Ian William (1899 - 1985)

Image of Wark, Ian William
Online SourcesArchival/Heritage SourcesPublished Sources
Industrial chemist and Science administrator
Born: 8 May 1899  Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.  Died: 20 April 1985  Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
(Sir) Ian William Wark was Chief of the Division of Industrial Chemistry, CSIR/O 1939-58, Director of the Chemical Research Laboratories 1958-60, and a member of the Executive 1960-65. He was chairman of the Commonwealth Advisory Committee on Advanced Education 1965-71.

Career Highlights
Born Melbourne, 8 May 1899. Died Melbourne, 20 April 1985. CBE 1964, CMG 1967, Kt 1969. Educated University of Melbourne (BSc 1919, MSc 1920, DSc 1924) and University College London (PhD 1923). Postdoctoral studies, University of California, Berkeley 1924; lecturer in chemistry, University of Sydney 1925; research chemist, The Electrolytic Zinc Company of Australasia Limited 1926-39; Chief, CSIR/CSIRO Division of Industrial Chemistry 1939-58; director, CSIRO Chemical Research Laboratories 1958-60; member of the Executive of CSIRO 1960-65; chairman, Commonwealth Advisory Committee on Advanced Education 1965-71; honorary consultant to CSIRO Minerals Research Laboratories / Institute of Energy and Earth Resources 1971- 85. Syme Prize, University of Melbourne 1933; Grimwade Prize, University of Melbourne 1933; H.G. Smith Medal, Australian Chemical Institute 1933; Fellow, Royal Australian Chemical Institute 1940; Fellow of ANZAAS 1946; Fellow, Australian Academy of Science 1954, Honorary Member, The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy 1960; Leighton Memorial Medal, Royal Australian Chemical Institute 1966; ANZAAS Medal 1973; Foundation Fellow, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering 1976. General President, Royal Australian Chemical Institute 1958; Inaugural President, Colloid and Surface Chemistry Division, Royal Australian Chemical Institute 1978-81; member, South Australian Board of Advanced Education 1971-77. Commemorated by the Ian Wark Laboratories in the CSIRO complex at Clayton, the Ian Wark Theatre in the Australian Academy of Science, the Ian Wark Research Institute at the University of South Australia and the Ian William Wark Medal and Lecture of the Australian Academy of Science.
Online SourcesPublished Sources
See Also

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Rosanne Walker
Created: 20 October 1993
Modified: 28 June 2005

Published by The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on ASAPWeb, 1994 - 2007
Originally published 1994-1999 by Australian Science Archives Project, 1999-2006 by the Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre
Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Policy
Submit any comments, questions, corrections and additions
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 26 February 2007

[ Foundation Supporter - Committee to Review Australian Studies in Tertiary Education ]
[ Top of page | Bright Sparcs Home | Browse | Search ]